The Metropolitan Museum of Art – PUNK: Chaos to Couture

Art, Critical Analysis — Doctor Ninja on May 8, 2013 at 10:35 am

The jockstrap that punk legend GG Allin was buried in 20 years ago is now on display at the Met.

The Met’s spring 2013 Costume Institute exhibition, PUNK: Chaos to Couture, will examine punk’s impact on high fashion from the movement’s birth in the early 1970s through its continuing influence today. Featuring approximately one hundred designs for men and women, the exhibition will include original punk garments and recent, directional fashion to illustrate how haute couture and ready-to-wear borrow punk’s visual symbols.

Focusing on the relationship between the punk concept of “do-it-yourself” and the couture concept of “made-to-measure,” the seven galleries will be organized around the materials, techniques, and embellishments associated with the anti-establishment style. Themes will include New York and London, which will tell punk’s origin story as a tale of two cities, followed by Clothes for Heroes and four manifestations of the D.I.Y. aesthetic—Hardware, Bricolage, Graffiti and Agitprop, and Destroy.

Presented as an immersive multimedia, multisensory experience, the clothes will be animated with period music videos and soundscaping audio techniques.

ART THOUGHTZ by Hennesy Youngman – How To Be A Successful Artist

Art, Critical Analysis, Uncategorized — Doctor Ninja on May 30, 2011 at 5:37 pm


ART THOUGHTZ: How To Be A Successful Artist
by Hennesy Youngman

Basil Wolverton curated by Cameron Jamie at Gladstone Gallery – June 20 to August 14 “Producer of Preposterous Pictures of Peculiar People who Prowl this Perplexing Planet”

Art — Doctor Ninja on June 25, 2009 at 11:12 am

Basil Wolverton

Enter the mind blowing MADness of Basil Wolverton in the ever extending exhibition of his outrageously awesome original drawings. It’s a must see for comic book fans & connoisseurs of crazy fine line drawings alike. His Lena the Hyena portrait that graced the cover of Mad magazine #11 in 1954 is the Mona Lisa of the comic book world. The creator of the “spaghetti and meatball” style carefully crafted his grotesque genius with beautiful black ink on to powerhouse pepper paper becoming an  influence on generations of great artists from R. Crumb to the Ramones. See the work of the self proclaimed “Producer of Preposterous Pictures of Peculiar People who Prowl this Perplexing Planet,” this summer at Barbara Gladstone Gallery, 515 West 24th Street in New York City.

Blatz / Filth – Shit Split, re-realease on Alternative Tentacles (double CD / LP)

Music — Doctor Ninja on February 2, 2009 at 8:32 am

Filth / Blatz - Shit Split Lp

“Tonight we’re gonna fuk shit up… tonight we’re gonna fuk shit up … tonight we’re gonna fuk shit up – TONIGHT WE’RE GONNA FUK SHIT UP!!!!  …reeeaal good, motherfucker!” – Blatz 1991.

Parents, teachers and fascist cops, President fucking Bush the first, they think they’ve got it all under control huh? The powers that be have everything lined up for a perfect future, 1000 points of light. Tipper Gore shielding my virgin ears from all the shit and erasing all the fuck. No naughty words in music! That would warp my teenage mind. Then comes Blatz. Chaotic, naked, raw and beautiful. They loved to hate the same things I hated, they liked to get wasted and they didn’t give a shit who knew it. Melodic & maniacal male / female vocals, young, dumb and having fun. It’s punk & I love it. I loved it so much that I took it seriously. And you’d better too by the time you get to the Filth side of the shit-split or your head will explode. Punk is not a fucking joke its for real and Jake Filth spitting flaming gasoline lyrics will make you understand that…

“The list is thousands long
People who decided it wasn’t for them
Did they really make that decision?
Conditioning runs deep in the U.S.A.
Teenage rebellion is just fine as long as you stop once you turn eighteen
Thousands of punks turned to society’s tools
There is something in their eyes
You can tell they sold out
Remember punk is more than teenage rebellion
Sure it starts there. But why does it end?
And the list is thousands long
What other life is there besides a life of freedom?
Never give in
Never give up
When boredom sets in
Think of the young kids who we once were
That enthusiasm is still there
You look around
What do you see?
One to replace every five that leave
And the list is millions long
But, lately I see an upsurgency
Back to old values of dedication and fuking rebellion
Perhaps the list is only hundreds long.” – The List – Filth

Filth - Live the Chaos 7″

The Blatz / Filth – Shit Split has the Live the Chaos 7″, Blatz – Cheaper Than the Beer 7″ and all the other records both bands ever put out. Do your punk rock homework. Get it now.  http://www.alternativetentacles.com

TV Watchers / Quackadero – Carl In the Sky with Diamonds – split CDR

Music — Doctor Ninja on November 24, 2008 at 12:59 pm

Put cd-r in player. Make it go round. It’s made of music. It sounds like sound. 2008 isn’t over yet but this is going in my top ten list of best albums of the year. Here’s a list of critically acclaimed TV Watchers songs.   (Critically acclaimed by me: Dr. Ninja the Cultural Critic)

1- Writers Strike
2- Vote for President
3- Brittney Spear’s Sister
4- Intelligent Design
5- Golf Channel Lay Off
6 – Fire Don Imus
7- Murder Capitol
8- Make Some More Make Overs
9- Reporters On Location
10- Kuccinich Can’t Win
11- O.J. Is Innocent
12- Holiday Spending

On the other side is Quackadero, an upbeat Cauliflower Ass and Bob, with more grass than blues. TV Watchers are like Fossil Fuel on ludes or a TV Guide made out of punk that sounds like a pack of cigarettes reporting the nightly news. Both bands are comprised of Food and Poopy. Bob plays trumpet in Quackadero. I don’t think anybody cares about any of this but I do so suck it.

TV Watchers / Quackadero - Carl In the Sky with Diamonds split CDR

Wheelchair Full of Old Men + Onion Mind Games. Art by Food and Mike Schafer.

Amebix – No Sanctuary: The Spiderleg Recordings

Music — Doctor Ninja on August 15, 2008 at 5:24 pm

Amebix sounds like someone yelling down a hole. This is classic crusty punk though, No Masters, No Gods. They sang it first. Twenty five years ago. Ironically that song doesn’t include the lyrics “no masters, no gods” so I guess they never sang it at all.
As far as anarcho-punk goes I much prefer Crass or Subhumans to Amebix. There’s a lot of moaning and groaning in Amebix that makes me wanna shoot heroin into my eyeballs rather than go out and smash the state. The Spiderleg recordings are a chugging and miserable soundtrack to the squatters life of squalor. I’m going to seek sanctury now… in Lil’ Wayne’s “Tha Carter III”! He’s got tattoos on his face and he’s not asking for spare change.

Amebix - No Sanctuary http://www.alternativetentacles.com

Bill Daniel’s Mostly True: The Story Of Bozo Texino

Art, Books — Doctor Ninja on August 11, 2008 at 6:13 am

Out of all the books I’m reading this is mostly the best one. Mostly because it’s Hobo zine. It’s got the spunk & spirit of a fanzine but theses Hobo tales take to the rails in the form of a book, nice and fancy like. It’s no punk zine of crummy stapled together zeroxes, this here bound paper has the air of Hobo pride. You could rightly say that this train book is perfect bound. Now some people might right about now be jumping to conclusions about Hoboes. I’ll tell you right here and now that it ain’t no Homo typo. And it ain’t a bum askin’ for a hand out. If that’s what you thought than you can just ferget it. Hoboes are well traveled adventurous folk. They know how to tell a tale, mostly cause they seen it with they’re own eyes . The funky dudes who ride for free… freedom riders on the freights, from They just hop on a freight and ride from here to there with the wind in their hair. And by hair I mean scragely beards because they’re most likely wearing some kind of dirty hat. Hobo hats can get pretty dirty when they’re takin’ a nap in them there boxcars. Napping may sound like some sort of bum activity, but don’t get it twisted, Hoboes are a hard workin’ folk. ‘Bos are well traveled and many are accomplished artists. Many thousands, and by thousands I mean millions of Hobo drawings & monikers can be seen across the country, back and forth, from coast to coast. The well known arteest and man of mystery Bozo Texino was the subject of Bill Daniel’s critically acclaimed documentary & you could say that this here book is the compendium to that fine flick… “Who is Bozo Texino?” Buy this book and you might just find yourself some answers. You also might find that Mostly True is treasure trove of Hobo graffitti, a true and livin’ geniuine American art form.

image_2238.gif

Microcosm Publishing distributed by AK Press

MUDMUX vol.1 – Mudboy with Extreme Animals and Dark Dark Dark 7″

Art, Music — Doctor Ninja on May 18, 2008 at 8:12 am

I’m going to attempt to do a psychic review of this record (A psychic review is when Doctor Ninja the Cultural Critic uses his power of spoon-bending, mind reading, psychic surgery and extreme knowledge to capture the spirit activity of something he has never heard, seen or even knew existed before it magically appeared in the RRReviews mailbox – the editor). MUDBOY, master of mush mixing has made a musical mess of midi files. A former floppy disc the song… wait… a name is coming to me…something with a J. Is it Jesus? Do anyone know a Jesus? No… wait there’s something else… he’s a carpenter. Hmmm… that definitely sounds like Jesus. Hold on… I’m getting another J. I’ve smoked a second doobie and the name is John. Wait… I’ve got it… scary music composer John Carpenter !!! But wait… I’m feeling something more here… something crunk. I’m hearing a little crunk… little… little John. The Extreme Animals side of this MUDMUX record is a song tribute to Lil’ Jon Carpenter!

Okay I’m holding side 2 of the record up to my forehead. It’s blue. It’s covering my eyes completely, but my hearing sees through it. My hearing is a little muddy though. I’m hearing something dark. Very dark. Like dark, dark. Like dark, dark, dark. Side two is a Mudboy version of a song by Dark Dark Dark !!! Wait, there’s more… the record is pressed on clear blue vinyl !!! My extreme knowledge tells me there are only 550 of these records. and they are being sold for $5.50 (US) from DNT records. My psychic powers tell me they will be sold out soon and someday will cost $550.

And there we have it ladies and gentleman… a Doctor Ninja psychic review, that always reveals what’s true.

Mudboy MUDMUX

The cover is a unique silkscreen poster by artists R.Lyon & Kevin Hooyman.

mudmux

Juiceboxxx / Dre Skull – Center Stage – Extreme Animals REMIXXX 7″

Music — Doctor Ninja on April 16, 2008 at 9:29 am

The kind of record I love… seven inches round, only 500 pressed, one sided clear vinyl with stamped white labels and a crazy sticker. Laser beams man… laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaser beams. Hmmm… this review is missing something, oh yeah, the music. Extreme Animals crush it as usual, crunk punk funk style. They punch up Dre Skull’s totally Technotronic track and jam crunk dust in all the cracks. More importantly they put Juiceboxxx’s vocals through juicer… peeling the awkward cadence, cutting the corn syrup rap and leaving plenty of pulp to get you pumped on the dancefloor… homestyle.

Center Stage

http://www.viciouspoprecords.com/

ACME BAR & GRILL

Food — Doctor Ninja on April 8, 2008 at 6:33 am

Acme pork chops

This here’s a plate of porkchops (BBQ style) that was pretty darn good. There’s actually two pork chops on top of each other in this deceptive photgraph. I wasn’t super hungry and in my attempt to reduce the risk of heartattack I split this meal with someone. Including the cornbread it came with (which had already been wolfed down by the time this picture was taken) it was plenty of food to fill us both up. It was good. But I’ve had the meatloaf here and that is great. Upon exiting ACME I noticed the NY Times review of their meatloaf from 1998. Doctor Ninja the Food Critic is ten years too late, but ACME meatloaf is up to date. Take it from from here Marian Burros…Acme meat loaf

ACME Bar & Grill – 9 Great Jones Sreet, New York, NY

© NOAH LYON | Retard Riot | RRReviews | RRRiting | Music | Movies | Books | Buttons | Drawings | Paintings | Photos | Shows |